Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Review : Awaken by Meg Cabot

*Warning: This review may contain spoilers. Read at your own risk.

PublisherScholastic, Inc.

Release Date: July 2, 2013
Pages: 336
Source: ARC

The Story:

Death has her in his clutches. She doesn't want him to let go.
Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera knew by accepting the love of John Hayden, she'd be forced to live forever in the one place she's always dreaded most: the Underworld. The sacrifice seemed worth it, though, because it meant she could be with the boy she loves.
But now her happiness -- and safety -- are threatened, all because the Furies have discovered that John has broken one of their strictest rules: He revived a human soul.
If the balance between life and death isn't fixed, both the Underworld and Pierce's home back on earth will be wiped away. But there's only one way to restore order. Someone has to die.
via Barnes & Noble

FOUR Gold Stars!!!

My Review

AHH! This is the end . . . of the Abandon trilogy. *Le sigh*. The conclusion to the trilogy is bittersweet -- bitter because it is the end and sweet because I really enjoyed the story.

Tag Line:

Death is just getting warmed up. A storm is coming.

Opening Line:

In school they told us to follow the rules.


The action and suspense in was just what the doctor ordered. In 
Abandon readers were being introduced to the story, getting background information. In Underworld readers received a heavy dose of greek mythology with the Hades-Persephone and The Furies themes at work. But in Awaken readers are caught in the crosshairs as Pierce fights for John against The Furies who want to punish him for reviving a human soul. The balance between the realms are out of whack and Pierce must find a way to restore order which means one thing . . . Someone has to die. 

As for the romance, it was amazing! The John-Pierce feels were on overload. Readers were lucky enough to see John and Pierce grow into each other and their relationship *and fans* thanked them for it. In Underworld they put in the fight to keep each other. Not to mention, the steamy scenes are just that, steamy and swoon-worthy.

All in all, if you are a sucker for Hades-Persephone retelling, the Abandon trilogy is definitely for you. Awaken  is a great blend of action, mystery and humor with a delectable dash of romance.

Character Breakdown:

Pierce Oliviera - In Awaken readers see Pierce truly come into her own. She is very take-charge and take no prisoners. In the previous books while I did not hate Pierce, there were times when she annoyed me with her stubborn, manipulative ways.

Meet the Author:

Meg Cabot is a #1 New York Times bestselling author of books for both adults and tweens/teens. There have been over 25 million copies of Meg's nearly 80 published books sold in 38 countries. Her last name rhymes with habit, as in "her books can be habit forming." She currently lives in Key West, Florida with her husband and various cats. 

Meg's first ever adult book in the Princess Diaries series, "Royal Wedding", will be available in Summer 2015, along with an installment of the series for younger readers, "From the Notebook of a Middle School Princess". "Remembrance", a new book in the Mediator series will be available in February of 2016.

***Check out Meg Cabot's website for more information about her and the AwakenHERE

Happy Reading!


Post a Comment